CAGAYAN DE ORO CITY, Oct. 16 — In line with the celebration of the 33rd Anniversary of Local Government Month, the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) on Monday gave recognition to outstanding Lupons that demonstrate exemplary performance and commendable contributions in the promotion of Katarungang Barangay during the Lupong Tagapamayapa Incentives (LTIA) Awards in the region.

DILG 10 Regional Director Wilhelm M. Suyko, CESO IV, explained that the Katarungang Pambarangay is a very important innovation of the justice system in the country as it provides accessible and effective settlement of disputes at the barangay level.

“This is why the LTIA Regional Awards Committee in the region held this awarding ceremony as a tribute to our lupons that have been instrumental in the successful implementation of the KP Law in your respective barangays,” he said.

The LTIA search covers all barangays in the region vying under four (4) categories namely; the Highly Urbanized Cities (HUCs), Component Cities (CCs), 1st-3rd Class Municipalities, and 4th-6th Class Municipality.

The Outstanding Lupons for each category are Barangay Kauswagan, Cagayan de Oro for the HUCs Category, Barangay San Carlos, Valencia City, Bukidnon, for the CCs Category, Barangay Tipolo, Plaridel, Misamis Occidental for the 1st-3rd Class Category, and Barangay Naburos, Baliangao, Misamis Occidental for the 4th-6th Class Category.

Meanwhile, the 1st runners-up are Barangay Gusa, Cagayan de Oro (HUCs), Barangay 18-A, Gingoog City, Misamis Oriental (CCs), Barangay Bara, Opol, Misamis Oriental (1st-3rd Class Municipality), and Barangay Calaran, Calamba, Misamis Occidental (4th-6th Class Municipality).

Rounding up the winners are the 2nd runners-up namely, Barangay Canitoan, Cagayan de Oro City (HUCs), Barangay 4, Tangub City, Misamis Occidental (CCs), Barangay North Poblacion, Maramag, Bukidnon (1st-3rd Class Municipality), and Barangay Caromatan, Kolambugan, Lanao del Norte (4th-6th Class Municipality).

Regional finalists were also recognized with Barangay Kiwalan, Iligan City for the HUCs, Barangay Benhaan, Mambajao, Camiguin for the 1st-3rd Class Municipality, and Barangay Kibaghot, Laguindingan, Misamis Oriental and Sampagar, Damulog, Bukidnon, for the 4th-6th Class Municipality.

All awardees were given a plaque and a certificate of recognition, and a monetary incentive of Php 20K, 15K, 10K, and 5K for the Outstanding Lupon, 1st Runner Up, 2nd Runner Up, and Regional Finalists, respectively.

DILG 10 Assistant Regional Director (ARD) Yvette Tolentino–Sunga highlighted the importance of the localized justice system and how it promptly gives accessible and effective settlement of disputes at the barangay level.

“What is unique with the Lupong Tagapamayapa is that we have a grassroots court justice system in which we could immediately give a resolution in cases, or complaints between family members, relatives, and neighbors,” she expressed.

It is also noteworthy that Barangay Naburos in Baliangao, Misamis Occidental will be awarded during the LTIA National Awards which will happen on December 4, 2023, in Manila.

The ceremony is in accordance with Executive Order (EO) No. 394 s. 1997, establishing the LTIA to give due recognition and incentives to outstanding lupons. (DILG ORD / M. Bacud)