Exemplifying good performance in the implementation and promotion of Katarungang Pambarangay objectives, Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) 10 recently recognized these efforts of the barangays via 2019 Lupong Tagapamayapa Incentives Awards (LTIA). 

Awarded Northern Mindanao barangays are the following:

Highly Urbanized Cities Category:

•Barangay Kausawagan, Cagayan de Oro City (Outstanding Lupong Tagapamayapa)

•Barangay Canitoan, Cagayan de Oro City (First Runner-Up)

•Barangay Gusa, Cagayan de Oro City (Second Runner-Up) 

Component Cities Category:

•Barangay Magsaysay, Malaybalay City (Outstanding Lupong Tagapamayapa)

•Barangay Maloro, Tangub City (First Runner-Up) 

1st-3rd Class Municipalities Category:

•Barangay Tipolo, Plaridel, Misamis Occidental (Outstanding Lupong Tagapamayapa)

•Barangay, Topocon, Sultan Naga Dimaporo, Lanao del Norte (First Runner-Up)

•Barangay Imelda, Villanueva, Misamis Oriental (Second Runner-Up)

•Barangay, Poblacion, Kapatagan, Lanao del Norte (Regional Finalist)

•Barangay Namnam, San Fernando, Bukidnon (Regional Finalist)

•Barangay Poblacion, Lugait, Misamis Oriental (Regional Finalist)

•Barangay Central Poblacion, Kalilangan, Bukidnon (Regional Finalist) 

4th-6th Class Municipalities Category:

•Barangay Tacub, Kauswagan, Lanao del Norte (Outstanding Lupong Tagapamayapa)

•Barangay Eastern Poblacion, Lopez Jaena, Misamis Occidental (First Runner-Up)

•Barangay San Isidro, Magsaysay, Misamir Oriental (Second Runner-Up)

•Barangay Katipunan, Sapad, Lanao del Norte (Regional Finalist)

•Barangay Pontod, Mahinog, Camiguin (Regional Finalist)

•Barangay Demetrio Fernan, Bonifacio, Misamis Occidental (Regional Finalist) 

Outstanding Lupong Tagapamaya winners will be receiving Php 20,000.00, while first runner-up winners will have Php 15,000.00. For the second runner-up winners and regional finalists, the barangays will be awarded P10,000 and Php 5,000.00-worth of incentives respectively. 

Among said awardees, Barangay Tipolo from the Municipality of Plaridel emerged as third placer in the national level. 

“Incentivizing good performance of our lupons is one way of showing how much we value your roles in your barangays and that we want to keep you motivated to do better each year,” DILG 10 Arnel M. Agabe said. 

With the features of the newly launched Katarungang Pambarangay Guidebook in Region10, which is child-friendly, gender-responsive, and culture-sensitive, RD Agabe is confident that the lupons in Region 10 will be performing better. 

“At least this would help our indigenous people, and also our Muslim brothers and sisters in the amicable settle of disputes at their respective levels which is guided by their own customs and traditions,” he said. 

Meanwhile, PBGEN Rafael P Santiago Jr congratulates this year’s awardees saying, “Police Regional Office 10 is very grateful that our local government units and other agencies actively support the operational thrust of the PNP. Let us continue working together toward our mission and vision in making Northern Mindanao generally peaceful and orderly.” 

Said activity is in line with the celebration of the Local Government Code Month with the theme: “Matino at Mahusay na Pamahalaang local: Pundasyon ng Makatao, Mapayapa, at Maunlad a bansa.”

Katarungang Pambarangay or the Barangay Justice System is a community-based dispute settlement mechanism that is administered by the barangay as the basic political unit in the country. This covers disputes between members of the same municipality and involves the Punong Barangay and other members of the communities as the intermediaries.