In the essence of operationalizing the “Whole-of-Nation Approach” to end the local communist armed conflict, Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) 10 urged the sanggunian members to focus on 27 conflict-affected barangays in the Region.

DILG 10 Regional Director Arnel M. Agabe presented this challenge during the Program for Newly-Elected Officials, orienting the local legislators of Region 10. 

 “We hope to strengthen the operationalization of EO 70 through convergence and coherence of efforts of the national line agencies and local government units in all levels, and our sanggunians play a vital role in this mission of ending insurgency,” RD Agabe said.

The Regional Director said that for now, the priority conflict-affected barangays are those that need the immediate delivery of services the most. With this, sanggunian members’ intervention is essential to ensure that the government will be felt in these barangays.

For the Province of Bukidnon the identified priority conflict-affected barangays are the following:

Brgy. Patpat of Malaybalay, Brgys. Kapalaran and Osmeña of Dangcagan, Brgy. Bonacao of San Fernando, and Brgys. Digongan, Kiulom, Panganan and Sagundanon of Kitaotao.

Meanwhile, in Misamis Oriental, these barangays are Brgy. Basak of Talakag, Brgy. Blanco of Balingasag, and Brgy. Umagos of Lagonglong.

Completing the list are the following conflict-affected barangays of Misamis Occidental: Brgys. Macubon and Roxas of Aloran, Brgys. Dalingap and Penacio of Clarin, Brgy. Small Potongan of Concepcion, Brgy. Carmen of Jimenez, Brgy. San Lorenzo Ruiz of Sinacaban, Brgy. Hoyohoy and Owayan of Tangub City, Brgy. Gala of Tudela, and Brgys. Lake Duminagat, Lampasan, Leboron, Mansawan, Mara-Mara and Tuno of Don Victoriano

“There is still much to be done and we are counting on our sanggunians to craft policies and perform their other legislative functions that would be responsive to the needs of their constituents,” RD Agabe said.

As of press time, provinces that already underwent the Orientation Course for Local Legislators are the Province of Camiguin (October 10-11, 2019) and Misamis Occidental (October 17-18, 2019).

Upcoming schedules for the remaining provinces/cities are the following: Misamis Oriental (October 30-31, 2019), Lanao del Norte (November 7-8, 2019), Component Cities and Highly Urbanized Cities (November 14-15, 2019), and Bukidnon (November 21-22, 2019).