Gearing up towards ending local communist armed conflict in the country, Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) Region 10 further calls the active engagement of the Provincial Board Members League of the Philippines (PBMLP) to end insurgency.

“We are involving all stakeholders to put an end to the five-decade long local terrorist problem in our respective areas of responsibilities,” DILG 10 Regional Director Arnel M. Agabe said during the conduct of the PBMLP 7th Regional Council Elections held at Tangub City, Misamis Occidental, August 30.

With this, the Regional Director urged the Sangguniang Panlalawigan members to commit in this goal by helping the government in operationalizing the EO 70, known as the ‘Whole-of-Nation Approach’.

EO 70 addresses the root cause of insurgencies and other armed conflict and threats by prioritizing and harmonizing the delivery of basic services and social development packages by the government.

Moreover, it looks into facilitating societal inclusivity, and ensuring active participation of all sectors of the society in the pursuit of the country’s peace agenda.

“Primarily, the reason why we still have rebels is that most of our communities cannot feel the presence of our government,” RD Agabe said. “And I challenge our Sangguniang Panlalawigan members to strengthen their efforts in ensuring that the basic government services will reach even the farthest areas.”

Elected PBMLP officials during the said activity are the following: 

Regional Chairman: Lel Blanco

Regional Vice-Chairman: Pepito Ranulfo

Regional Secretary-General: Syremae Emano

Regional Treasurer: Elsa Navarro

Regional Auditor: Arlyn Ayon

Regional PRO: Dexter Yasay

Regional Directors: Jose Rufino Ladao, Superman Usop, Eleuterio Ubial, Macarupung Dibaratum, and Abdul Harris Au 

 “We expect a harmonized effort from all of us, especially that we are targeting to finally end insurgency by year 2022,” RD Agabe disclosed.


Out of the 12 clusters of EO 70, five (5) of it is led by the DILG, namely: Sectoral Unification, Local Government Empowerment, Basic Services, Localized Peace Engagement, and E-CLIP and Amnesty Program.