Twenty-seven conflict-affected Northern Mindanao barangays are now set to focus their development plans and its implementation towards sustaining peace and development to finally End Local Communist Armed Conflict (ELCAC) in their areas.

         These efforts are in line with the operationalization of Executive Order 70, otherwise known as the “Whole-of-Nation Approach,” aimed to addresses the root causes of insurgencies and other armed conflicts and threats by prioritizing and harmonizing the delivery of basic services and social development packages by the government.

         In Northern Mindanao, out of 798 barangays identified as conflict-affected areas, provinces, cities, municipalities and barangays, 27 barangays are from the Region.

         With this, said barangays, scheduled in two batches, will undergo action planning workshop on the formulation and updating of Local/Barangay Development Plans.

         Facilitated by the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) Region 10, this activity eyes on strengthening the capacity of these local government units to develop, market, and manage local development projects that will address basic needs of their communities.

         “Through our invited barangays, what we want to happen is for our constituents to feel that the government is for them and with them,” DILG 10 Regional Director Arnel M. Agabe said.

         He urged barangay functionaries to participate in the “Whole-of-Nation Approach” saying that they have important roles to attain its goals, and one way is by anchoring their Barangay Development Plans in the said Executive Order.

         First set of barangays from Bukidnon and Misamis Oriental are currently undergoing said capacity program, July 31-August 2 at Cagayan de Oro City, namely:

  • Patpat, Malaybalay City
  • Kapalaran and Osmeña of Dangcagan
  • Kiulom, Panganan, Digongan, and Segundanon of Kitaotao
  • Bunacao, San Fernando
  • Basak, Talakag
  • Blanco, Balingasag
  • Umagos, Lagonglong

         Meanwhile, the second set of barangays from Misamis Occidental that will undergo the training are the following:

  • Roxas and Macubon of Aloran
  • Dalingap and Pinacio, Clarin
  • Small Potongan, Concepcion
  • Lampasan, Tuno, Mara-mara, Mansawan, Leboron, and Lake Duminagat of Don Victoriano Chiongban
  • Carmen, Jimenez
  • San Lorenzo Ruiz, Sinacaban
  • Owayan and Hoyohoy of Tangub City
  • Gala, Tudela