As the Vice Mayors’ League of the Philippines (VMLP) simultaneously conducted the chapter elections for the term 2019 to 2022 nationwide, July 29, Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) Misamis Occidental guaranteed full support to new VMLP.

             With DILG Mis Occ facilitating the elections in the Province, Provincial Director Pablio Benitez, Jr. assured the vice mayors that the Department is always willing to provide technical and administrative support in line with local and national goals.

             The chapter elections brought about the new VMLP officials:

  • Jorge Almonte (Oroquieta City) – Chapter President
  • Alberto Peñas (Tangub City) – Chapter Vice President
  • Estela Estaño (Tudela) – Chapter Secretary General
  • Jay Bergado (Lopez Jaena) – Chapter Treasurer
  • Crisanne Anne Marie Macias (Panaon) – Chapter Public Relations Officer

             All vice mayors from cities and municipalities in the province were present to formally welcome a new term and discuss new initiatives, pressing matters, and the current direction of the VMLP in the province. The activity was facilitated by the highest ranking VMLP officer of the outgoing term, Vice Mayor Estela Estaño of Tudela.

            Vice mayors Evelyn Dumanjug (Bonifacio), Glory Fe Roa (Clarin), Simplicia Neri (Ozamiz City), Jimmy Regalado (Aloran), and Antonio Lawas (Calamba) also landed as Chapter Board of Directors. Candidates ran unopposed and received zero election protests as per the VMLP electoral committee.

             The VMLP is mandated to collaborate with the national, local, and international agencies and organizations in attaining efficient and effective local legislation. They also develop programs that enrich the capabilities of local legislative bodies.

             The DILG Provincial Office is also set to monitor the League of Municipalities chapter elections involving the municipal mayors of Misamis Occidental.