To capacitate Local Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Officers and Staff (LDRRMOs), Municipal Planning and Development Coordinators (MPDCs), and other local government unit functionaries in the formulation of the Enhanced Local Climate Change Action Plan (LCCAP), a training-workshop was conducted for Pilot LGUs and coaches.

“For now, there is a need for us to take seriously our preparations on Disaster Risk Reduction and Management, as well as on climate change adaptation,” said DILG 10 Regional Director Arnel M. Agabe. “What we would like to achieve is that our LGUs will still be able to survive should disaster strike our localities.”

 With this, the Regional Director underscored that “resiliency” is a function of science and governance. 

 “When we talk abour science, we are talking about the necessity to have appropriate and adequate information and this information should be known, valued and made available to our local decision makers—then they will be compelled to make action,” he said.

    Through the training-workshop, the LGUs were provided with information on the recent development in climate change governance, namely, Low Emission Development (LED), Understanding the Climate and Disaster Risk Assessment (CDRA), and Vulnerability Assessment (VA).

 Further, the activity involved would-be coaches coming from the local resource institutes (LRIs) /state universities and colleges to strengthen partnership with DILG, Local Government Academy (LGA), and LGUs.

 “We would like to have you LRIs/SUCs as our coaches to help DILG assist and coach our LGUs so that they will have the most responsive LCCAP because with this, we could ensure that our local government will be more resilient,” RD Agabe said.

Held at Dyanasty Court Hotel, Cagayan de Oro City on September 5-7, 2018, the training-workshop was attended by the Provincial Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Officers (PDRRMO), DILG Provincial DRR-CCA Focal Persons/Program Managers, MPDCs, Municipal Local Government Operations Officers (MLGOOs) and DRRM Officers or Environmental Planning Professionals (EnPs) of LRIs/SUCs (as coaches).

Pilot LGUs were: Balingoan, Inittao, Lugait, Medina, Naawan, Opol, Salay, and Tagoloan for Misamis Oriental; Aloran, Jimenez, Lopez Jaena, Sapang Dalaga, and Sinacaban for Misamis Occidental; Bacolod, Baroy, and Tubod for Lanao del Norte; Guinsiliban, Mambajao, and Sagay for Camiguin; and Talakag for Bukidnon.

Priscella B. Mejillano (consultant) and Elmo Dimaano (LGA) served as the resource persons of the said activity.