LANAO DEL NORTE – In a significant ceremony to signify their return to the fold of the government, Former Rebels (FRs) surrender two (2) firearms to Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) 10-Lanao del Norte, Philippine National Police (PNP) and Philippine Army (PA) on August 19, 2021 at Dangulaan Elementary School Gym, Sultan Naga Dimaporo, this province.

     Vice-Mayor Ulwan D. Dimaporo hosted the ceremony and shared that the local officials of Sultan Naga Dimaporo are doing their best to sustain the peace and order in the Municipality. He promised to coordinate with Mayor Motalib D. Dimaporo to possibly provide additional locally-driven assistance to the former rebels.

     “Kung wala kamo diri ug inyong tinguha nga mu surrender, wala kami diri karon. Kini nag pamatood nga ang programa sa gobyerno tinuod. Naghinaot og naga ampo kami nga mapakita pud ninyo sa inyong mga kaubanan ang inyong nasinati karon aron mubalik sab sila sa sabakan sa gobyerno sama ninyo,” said DILG Provincial Director Bruce Augusto Colao.

     Director Colao expressed his gratitude to LTC Julius C. Librada GSC (CAV), Commanding Officer of the 5th Mechanized Infantry Battalion, for accommodating and securing the safety of the former rebels while they undergo through the reintegration process.

     Under the Enhanced Comprehensive Local Integration Program (E-CLIP) of the national government, the FRs will receive financial assistance packages through the DILG. These include the Immediate Assistance, Livelihood Assistance, Reintegration Assistance, and Firearms Remuneration wherein upon examination and valuation by the PNP, the FRs will receive double the amount of the appraised value of their surrendered firearms.

     The activity was also joined by Hon. Achmad Taha, Sangguniang Panlalawigan Member, Col. Rey B. Alemania (MNSA) PA Commanding Officer of the 2nd Mechanized Infantry Brigade; PMAJ Moamar M. Solog, Officer-in-Charge of Sultan Naga Dimaporo Police Station; Hon. Roldan T. Mampao, Punong Barangay of Dangulaan, Sultan Naga Dimaporo and Ms. Vivan A. Cañete, DILG-Municipal Local Government Operations Officer (MLGOO) of Sultan Naga Dimaporo.(DILG 10/[Lanao del Norte]/[AdAsst II/Justine Mae M. Acierto])(Revised copy/DILG-10/Jia Artajo)